This past week has been a rather crazy one, which will serve as my excuse for not posting sooner. With so much negativity going around and lots of unpleasantness trying to take me hostage, I haven’t been in a sharing kind of mood. Pessimism and disapproval everywhere!  It’s in the air— just a dark, smoggy cloud of negative energy floating over me.

I’m doing my best to not let it get me down. It’s hard. It seems like there isn’t much going my way lately. My mom and grandma both agree that I need to start playing the lottery. With the way things have been, I’m way overdue for some positive, life-altering events.  I thought this was going to be my year, but it’s just not happening.

To be completely honest, 2013 isn’t looking much better for the education system or for open teaching positions. Teaching obviously isn’t panning out for me, which stinks because I know I’m meant to be a teacher. When will it happen for me? Will it ever happen? How do I get the opportunity to prove myself? I don’t have the answers to these questions, so that’s why I’ve moved my job search in a different direction. So far, that hasn’t been much of a success either. What happens to a teacher without a classroom? What does a degree in English do for me if a career in teaching isn’t the answer? Dwelling on it isn’t helping much, but neither is actively job hunting. I can tell you one thing: it’s not fun anymore. No, sir. Zero fun, sir (said in my best Petey Jones voice).

Poor Petey.

However, there is one tiny ray of sunshine poking its way through the negativity…. Paleo!

The one thing I can honestly celebrate right now is my Paleo success. Within the past week or so, I have lost another 4 pounds, which brings me to a total of 67 pounds gone for good. I’m soon approaching the seventh complete month along my Paleo adventure and there’s no looking back.

For the longest time I couldn’t tell I was actually losing weight by looking in the mirror. To me, it seemed as if I was staying the same and it was just my clothes magically getting bigger and bigger. People around me could tell I was losing weight and I was getting many compliments, I just couldn’t see what they were seeing. I mean, I knew the weight had to be going somewhere. My clothes were getting loose and I was definitely feeling lighter and springier, but my reflection in the mirror looked the same to me.

For some reason or another, this week changed my perception. Little noticeable differences seemed to be surfacing in the mirror. I used to have a pointy, little chin and I think it may be making a reappearance! My face and neck seemed slimmer than usual, too. I could also see my curvy shape returning to my waistline and hips (instead of one big block, up and down). Whoo-hoo!  I’m happy that I’m starting to notice the changes and it feels good.

Taken today… Yup. I can see my pointy chin!

One drawback that comes along with these changes (but I don’t mind, really) is that all of my clothes are too big. I kind of look ridiculous swimming around in my clothes, but I don’t have the money to go out and buy a whole new wardrobe. Plus, why would I go out and spend a bunch of money on new clothes when they’ll eventually be too big on me, too! I don’t have any plans on slowing down, so buying new clothes wouldn’t make sense right now, even if I could afford it. I’ve been trying to make do with jeans and shirts from a few years ago, but even some of these older items are a bit too big. Finding work clothes to wear is disastrous. I have very little to choose from. My engagement ring is even too big! These are problems worth having, though. Hopefully when I get to my ideal weight, I’ll have plenty enough cash to select a new wardrobe and arrange to have my ring re-sized.

Going Paleo has also helped my outlook on cooking. I’m in love with learning how to be a better cook. Jacob and I have been tackling some new recipes lately, and all have been successful! We’ve made Paleo friendly versions of vegetable beef soup, a summery tuna salad, and even a rotisserie chicken— just in the last week! I did have some help, though. I borrowed some recipes from Mister 12 Michelin stars himself, Gordon Ramsay. I’ve been watching this Gordon Ramsay cookery class on the BBC and it amazes me. While he’s a bit frightening (or a scary bloke, rather), I love his ideas and his tips are really useful. Plus, he’s really spectacular to watch in the kitchen! You can watch it here. While not every recipe is Paleo friendly, Chef Ramsay does use whole and fresh ingredients. It is also easy to tweak some recipes to fit into my Paleo lifestyle.

Fresh chicken, just placed into rotisserie– rubbed with olive oil, paprika, sea salt, and pepper.

I’m lucky Jacob enjoys cooking, too. I don’t think I would have as much fun cooking if I had to do it alone. Keeping strictly Paleo and spending a lot of time together in the kitchen has made a great team out of the pair of us. I know I’ve said it before, but I am really lucky to have that kind of support from him. Of course we don’t always see eye to eye, but we manage… and turn out lots of yummy, healthy food.

Hmmm….  Maybe Jacob and I should both go to culinary school and open a Paleo restaurant! Yikes!

On that note of craziness, I think I’ll wrap it up.

For now, while there are many things trying to keep me down, I’m making an effort to focus on the positive aspects of my current situations. I’m losing weight, feeling better each day, and restoring my health. While it’s not money in the bank, it sure is important.

About Nicole

I have my BA in English Education and am a lover of the arts. I’m part of a small, but fiercely devoted (and annoyingly close) family– and wouldn’t change that for the world. I'm lucky in love with the love of my life and am a step-mom to his two beautiful girls. I’m also a Paleolithic eater, a lover of all things organic, whole, and natural.

4 responses »

  1. gina says:

    When i was reading the part about cooking, I was thinking, “Nic should go to culinary school!!” Lol i really love your writing gf, and am so sad you’re having a hard time w the teaching gigs. Keep your head up, and you look fab!!! Love the pic! Xoxo

  2. Peg Neuhaus says:

    Nicole, I am so proud of your commitment to this new way of eating, keep it up, you look fantastic! Don’t give up your dream of teaching just yet, I say keep subbing for CPS during the day and find a job during the evennings and weekend, subbing is a foot in the door to a permanate position and of course, keep sending out those resumes. Something will come through eventually.

  3. Lindsay6384 says:

    My advice about the clothes while in a weightloss schedule: make the thrift store your friend!

Leave a Reply

